Southern Oregon Merchandise Resale News, Information and Events

DUNCAN PHYFE CHAIRS

A few months back, 4 Duncan Phyfe chairs miraculously appeared at a used furniture shop in Southern Oregon.

I recognized them immediately.  I am now the proud owner.

Duncan Phyfe Lyre Back Chairs

Although covered in a coat of turquoise paint, this set of four are in excellent condition in terms of stability.  They’re in need of no structural repair and are as sturdy as the day they were made.  Paint stripping and restaining are needed to restore these gorgeous Phyfe chairs back to their original elegance.

In the furniture industry, the term Duncan Phyfe is used to define an original Duncan Phyfe creation as well as the Duncan Phyfe style.  Duncan Phyfe, who manufactured up-scale wooden furniture from 1795 – 1848 , became known for signiture lines, shapes, architecture and woodworking methods.

Duncan Phyfe Furniture Architecture

A design element that was practically the logo of Duncan Phyfe is the lyre.

The Duncan Phyfe Lyre ~ Signature Statement

IDENTIFICATION

Makers Marks and numbering systems were rarely used by Duncan Phyfe.  Therefore, identification becomes tricky.  The experts look for elements that are consistently present in a Phyfe piece of furniture;  The type and quality of wood used, the architectural curves of the piece, the details, the legs, the chair backs and seat shapes and many other factors that can be found in Duncan Phyfe style.

Duncan Phyfe Curves

Duncan Phyfe furniture, most often made from Mahogany, a soft, dark, reddish brown wood.  However, there are examples of Phyfe furniture in other woods as well.

WHERE TO PURCHASE DUNCAN PHYFE

The Oregon Pick

Go Antiques by Worthpoint

Ruby Lane

eBay

Duncan Phyfe Chair Back

DUNCAN PHYFE REFERENCES

Gereanna’s

The Metropolitan Museum of Art

Connected Lines

How to Identify Ducan Phyfe

Buffaloah ~ About Duncan Phyfe

The chairs depicted above are offered for sale as of 3/17/2012 at Oregon Pick on Etsy.

 Inquiries, contact Gerean at: oregonpick@aol.com

Your comments, feedback, inquiries and the sharing of similar stories are very welcome.

~Gerean

7 responses

  1. Very pretty chairs I love the color and the fabric looks great!

    March 18, 2012 at 6:23 am

    • I appreciate the comment. They were painted and uphostered that way when I bought them. I have them up for sale. If they don’t sell within 30 days, I will be renovating them a bit and adding different uphostery. I will be blogging about them over at my other blog, http://www.gereannas.com. By the way, I’ve enjoyed reading your posts! ~Gerean

      March 18, 2012 at 10:03 am

  2. Rachel @Peace, Love, Fabulous

    You are fabulous (this furniture is gorg!), so I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Come on over to pick it up! (:
    http://peacelovefabulous.wordpress.com/2012/03/21/versatile-blogger-award-x2/

    Keep up the good work!
    – Rachel

    March 21, 2012 at 10:28 pm

    • Rachel ~

      Thank you so much for encouraging me. I am VERY NEW to blogging. I have created two blogs on WordPress and somehow the connections between the two are confusing others. I’m working hard to figure out how to make these two flow. Although I am reading your posts and intend to respond from my blog at http://www.gereannas.com. It seems that you and others are only finding me as my other WordPress blog, http://www.Oregonpick.com. Either way, I appreciate your support and nomination for “The Versatile Blogger Award.” I have been away for over 5 days and am just now getting back to mail, blog reading, etc. Do you think it is too late to participate in the Award? If it isn’t too late, I will try to respond by Monday.

      Please don’t quit following me. I’m working out the bugs and soon I will be posting regularly on both of my blogs.

      Enjoying your posts! Keep up the great work!

      ~Gerean

      March 24, 2012 at 11:33 am

  3. Love the pics and the info! I wish I could shop there but I live in IN. I have a sister in Oregon and I am going to tell her about the blog!

    April 24, 2012 at 6:38 am

    • Thanks for visiting the blog and for letting your sister know. My other blog site is: http://www.gereannas.com. It is as area specific as The Oregon Pick. Blessings! ~Gerean

      April 24, 2012 at 9:10 am

Leave a Reply

